

NYS COVID-19 Travel Advisory Updated: 6.30.2020

OVERVIEW: In response to increased rates of COVID-19 transmission in certain states within the United States, and to protect New York's successful containment of COVID-19, the State has joined with New Jersey and Connecticut in jointly issuing a travel advisory for anyone returning from travel to states that have a significant degree of community-wide spread of COVID-19.

People coming in from states that have a high infection rate* must quarantine for 14 days when entering New York.

If you have traveled from within one of the designated states with significant community spread (listed below), you must quarantine when you enter New York for 14 days from the last travel within such designated state, provided on the date you enter into New York State that such state met the criteria for requiring such quarantine.

The requirements of the travel advisory do not apply to any individual passing through designated states for a limited duration (i.e., less than 24 hours) through the course of travel. Examples of such brief passage include but are not limited to: stopping at rest stops for vehicles, buses, and/or trains; or lay-overs for air travel, bus travel, or train travel.

*Based upon Governor Cuomo's Executive Order 205, issued June 25, 2020, the following states meet the criteria for required quarantine:

- Alabama
- Arkansas
- Arizona
- California
- Florida
- Georgia
- lowa
- Idaho
- Louisiana
- Mississippi
- North Carolina
- Nevada
- South Carolina
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah

This is based upon a seven-day rolling average, of positive tests in excess of 10%, or number of positive cases exceeding 10 per 100,000 residents.

The states will be updated weekly and posted on the Department of Health website.